Flower FAQ

Flower FAQ

Keeping it simple and providing a basic overview on Medical Marijuana in Arizona. For more extensive information, go to http://www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana

Why do I need to have a medical marijuana registry identification card?

The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act says that anyone who follows the requirements can’t be penalized for the medical use of marijuana. The Act prohibits certain discriminatory practices, including:
  • A school or landlord can’t refuse to enroll or lease to a qualifying patient unless failing to do so would cause the school or landlord to lose benefits under federal law;
  • An employer can’t discriminate against a qualifying patient in hiring, terminating, or imposing employment conditions unless failing to do so would cause the employer to lose benefits under federal law; and
  • An employer can’t penalize a qualifying patient for a positive drug test for marijuana, unless the patient used, possessed, or was impaired by marijuana on the employment premises or during hours of employment.

How do I get my medical marijuana registry identification card?

You qualify for Medical Marijuana in Arizona if you have any of the following conditions:
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
  • Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes: Cachexia or wasting syndrome; Severe and chronic pain; Severe nausea; Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy; Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis

If qualified, here is what you will need to bring to your appointment:

The State of Arizona requires you to have seen a physician within the past 12 months to be certified. If your physician is unwilling to certify you for medical marijuana; your medical records from the previous 12 months from your physician can be provided to the certifying physician. This can happen one of three ways:
  • Bring your records with you to your appointment
  • Call your doctor and ask them to fax records directly to certification clinic
  • Sign a medical records release with certifying clinic and ask them to obtain your records
  • If no prior records exist, contact certifying clinic for a list of referral physicians

What are the prescribing physician’s obligations?

The law and rules specify requirements for issuing written certifications for patients for the medical use of marijuana. A physician is required to:
  • Have made or confirmed a diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition, as defined in A.R.S. § 36-2801, for the qualifying patient; Have established a medical record for the qualifying patient and am maintaining the qualifying patient’s medical record as required in A.R.S. § 12-2297;
  • Have conducted an in-person physical examination of the qualifying patient within the last 90 calendar days appropriate to the qualifying patient’s presenting symptoms and the debilitating medical condition the physician diagnosed or confirmed;
  • Have reviewed the qualifying patient’s medical records, including medical records from other treating physicians from the previous 12 months, the qualifying patient’s responses to conventional medications and medical therapies, and the qualifying patient’s profile on the Arizona Board of Pharmacy Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Program database;
  • Have explained the potential risks and benefits of the medical use of marijuana to the qualifying patient, or if applicable, the qualifying patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian;
  • If the physician has referred the qualifying patient to a dispensary, have disclosed to the qualifying patient, or if applicable, the qualifying patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian, any personal or professional relationship I have with the dispensary; and
  • Attest that, in the physician’s professional opinion, the qualifying patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition.

In addition, for a patient who is under the age of 18, another physician must:

  • Have conducted an comprehensive review of the qualifying patient’s medical records from other physicians treating the qualifying patient;
  • If the physician has referred the qualifying patient to a dispensary, have disclosed to the qualifying patient, or if applicable, the qualifying patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian, any personal or professional relationship I have with the dispensary; and
  • Attest that, in the physician’s professional opinion, the qualifying patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition.

What is still prohibited under the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act?

The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (Act) does not:
  • Authorize a person to undertake any task under the influence of marijuana that constitutes negligence or professional malpractice. Authorize possessing or using medical marijuana on a school bus, on the grounds of a preschool, primary school, or high school, or in a correctional facility.
  • Authorize smoking marijuana on public transportation or in a public place.
  • Authorize operating, navigating, or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat while under the influence of marijuana. A registered qualifying patient will not be considered to be under the influence of marijuana solely because of the presence of marijuana in the person’s system that appears in a concentration insufficient to cause impairment.
  • Require a government medical assistance program or private health insurer to reimburse for costs associated with the medical use of marijuana.
  • Require an owner of private property to allow the use of marijuana on that property.
  • Require an employer to allow the ingestion of marijuana in the workplace.
  • Prevent a nursing care or other residential or inpatient healthcare facility from adopting reasonable restrictions on the provision, storage and use of marijuana by residents or patients.

How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card commonly called a medical marijuana card?

The state issued fees include:
  • $150 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a qualifying patient. Some qualifying patients may be eligible to pay $75 for initial and renewal cards if they currently participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.
  • $10 to amend, change, or replace a registry identification card.

There is the additional expense of your professional medical visit to receive your recommendation for medical cannabis. Those fees range in price.

Are there any limitations or standards of which patients should be aware?

Yes, a qualifying patient or designated caregiver registered with ADHS will be able to obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary.

Please allow 30 Minutes for online orders to be processed

 

Swell Bell and Swell Youngtown online ordering coming soon!

×